aprilreign91

Get inside my creative mind.

Life as an Oreo by April Airriona Jones January 18, 2013

Filed under: Writing — aprilreignshowers @ 5:37 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

“Life as an Oreo” is a one-act play that I wrote. It was picked as a regional semi-finalist for the Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival. It is now a National Semi-Finalist and if it makes the next round there will be a staged concert reading at the Kennedy Center in April.

The play explores identity issues in the African American community and other things. It talks about the idea of “good hair”, interracial relationships and etc. Please pass this along if you feel compelled to do so 🙂

 

7 Responses to “Life as an Oreo by April Airriona Jones”

  1. This play looks like it covers some awesome topics. I wish you luck.

    http://blackneks.wordpress.com

  2. Reblogged this on BlackNEKS – Keeping it Rugged and commented:
    Keep an eye out for Life as an Oreo by April Airriona Jones.

  3. You have a great ear for dialogue. I’m old school, do the girls have to curse so much? I wish you much success. I don’t doubt the Kennedy Center will see you in April.

    • Thank you for the compliment 🙂

      Haha! I agree that some of the cursing is unecessary. I’m in the process of editing the play and most of it will go where I think it seems awkward.

      *Crossing my fingers* I think D.C. needs to see this play 🙂

  4. lilbirdie3 Says:

    Hello April. I graduated from Albright a few years ago. I heard about the rough start this play had and that it was not well liked by some. I just watched the video of it and I think you’ve done an amazing job. Kudos to you for pushing it into the world. You’ve done something great and are being properly recognized for it. Congratulations, fellow Albrightian!

    • Thank you so much! You know, the continued support that this is getting from different people (people I know and strangers) is making all of the backlash worth it. There was one point when I felt that I shouldn’t have wrote this play, but I would never change a word I wrote for anyone. Thank you, again. It’s nice to see a fellow Albrightian on here 🙂


Leave a Reply

